Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Cocina De Barrio. We'd love to have your feedback!

San Diego, CA

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Cocina De Barrio and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Maria about 9 hours ago

Masapan Pancakes

Absolutely amazing! A must try!

Maria about 10 hours ago

Churros & French Toast

Hands down the best thing I've ever eaten!! A must try!

Celinemedina52 4 days ago

Mango-Habanero Aguachile

It was my first time coming and the food and drinks were absolutely delicious! The restaurants vibe inside was very cozy and the serving staff was very attentive! This is an all around amazing place. I will definitely be coming back soon to try brunch!

Robertaarredondo78 22 days ago

Chilaquiles Rojos

I just loved the food so much and was literally licking the sauce off my plate from the Agua Chile. The flavors just burst with deliciousness and I can't wait to go back!!!

Sanam 26 days ago

Huevos Rancheros

The food was delicious, the meat was tender and perfectly cooked. The tamarind popsicle margarita was so refreshing for this San Diego heat. My new favorite breakfast place right.

Mattie 29 days ago

Pollo En Mole Coloradito

Finally, a Mexican restaurant that serves AUTHENTIC Mexican food! From the moment our "Memelitas" appetizer touched my tastebuds, I was transported Mexico; the flavors from every component, the beautiful presentation and tenderness of the the meat were simply on point. We were offered an accompanying sauce that was spicy and delicious. So delicious in fact, that I will long for it until I have it again. A good way to describe it is -as we learned to say in Mexico- "Pica Rico", a delightful heat that would be satisfying even simply accompanying a tortilla. My main entree of "Pollo en mole coloradito", was flavor and juiciness perfection. The sauce would make Oaxacan chefs proud. The beautiful hand made tortillas topped with a leaf, the super tender and perfectly cooked nopalitos were exceptional, and I was unexpectedly surprised by the grilled carrots: they had that true Mexican flavor I cannot even pinpoint. I had to close my eyes to slowly enjoy that flavor and the feeling of being in Mexico. As the final course, my tastebuds were once again blown away by the the deliciousness of their goat cheese flan, which texture was closer to a light cheesecake than the gelatinous offerings by other restaurants. It was served with fresh fruit, which further enhanced every single bite. On top of all of these attributes, the staff was attentive, prompt and professional. The ambiance was enjoyably tranquil and the premises were decorated in good taste and with a wink of playfulness. Overall, it was a great dining experience. For the first time in 30+ years of living in San Diego and always being asked for a recommendation, I finally have a Mexican restaurant I can recommend to anyone and do so confidently. Thank you, chef Flores, for bringing the "real thing" to our city!

Kamoreno1 about 1 month ago

La Margarita

The beautiful mango margarita con tequila reposado was very balanced, not overly sweet, and garnished with lovely fresh mango, lime and flowers. It was half rimmed with a spicy Chile powder which added a kick to the drink. Highly recommend this cocktail!

Kcwhite279 about 1 month ago

Churros & French Toast

I had ordered the Churros & French Toast to go, and it tasted as good as it looked. I would definitely reorder.

Karla about 1 month ago

Chilaquiles Rojos

This dish is so flavorful and familiar. I love how the tortilla chips are not saggy at all, but rather crispy and crunchy. I would suggest trying this dish as a first-timer and see how it exceeds your expectations!

Jaky about 2 months ago

Vegan Coconut Aguachile

OMG! The food at this place is so fresh in my opinion. I just hope they keep cooking at that rate, then I'll be coming for more! Great food!!

Kristal about 2 months ago

Short Ribs En Mole Negro

Excellent! Delicious! Beautiful presentation!

Mish 2 months ago

Chorizo Hash

This place blew my mind. The food was so well prepared and beautifully plated and hella affordable. Like it was made by people having a great day. The entire staff was friendly and attentive. It wasn't just our server paying us mind but everyone else made sure our needs were being met and we were enjoying ourselves and the food. Loved the ambiance and layout of the place. Appreciated that the bathroom door was open so I wouldn't have to touch the handles. We happened upon the place entirely by chance. Our intended spot for brunch had a really long line. But now it's at the forefront of my mind for brunch spots. Definitely every trip I take to San Diego in the future will include a visit to this spot. Too bad y'all aren't in Texas.

Oliviaarguilez 3 months ago

Chilaquiles Verdes

Chilaquiles Verde...YUM! This is a dish my dad used to make every morning before school so it became one of my favorites. When I saw it on the brunch menu I had to go for it! WOW! So delicious! I think I like it better than my dads (shh don't tell him!). The tequila sunrise drink is great too! Everyone I was with enjoyed their meal and drinks were beautifully crafted. This is a must try for anyone in San Diego! You won't be disappointed...so great!

Alitraveltime 4 months ago

Ceviche Robalo & Xoconostle

Ridiculously amazing! So flavorful and delicious.

Vero 4 months ago

Chilaquiles Verdes

The best!!!

Mariepaloalto 4 months ago

Chicken Tinga Quesadillas

I absolutely love anything chicken tinga, and this dish from Cocina de Barrio was the best chicken tinga I've had in San Diego. Cocina de Barrio is a great addition to this neighborhood and I'll keep returning for the delicious food and drinks!

David 5 months ago

Enmoladas

This dish was absolutely amazing!! I asked my waiter his recommendation with a few different choices and he said the Emmoladas are the best and something you can't get anywhere else. Boy, was he spot on. They are like enchiladas stuffed with 10 hour slow cooked short ribs and topped with an incredible mole and 2 fried eggs. The meat was so lean and tender and juicy! The mole sauce was exquisite and I think I found my new favorite breakfast meal. The potatoes were also cooked to perfection and awesome with the mole sauce. My wife and I will be back often, this place is a new gem and love the patio!

Abear 5 months ago

Enmoladas

The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. This was the second time I've been here and have enjoyed both occasions immensely.

Bernardpfernandes 5 months ago

Taquitos Dorados

Outstanding dish, my fiancé and I dined in for dinner tonight, I can't stop talking about it.

Maria about 9 hours ago

Tlayuda

An absolute must try! I recommend it with the beef birria! Amazing!

Lu17is 4 days ago

Churros & French Toast

The best French toast I ever had. Each bite sent me to euphoria and at one point I thought I left my body and was levitating. I'm coming back and ordering the whole menu.

Bek 20 days ago

Vegan Coconut Aguachile

Loved this dish. No need for chips, just a lovely, refreshing salad.

Eoberbauer 24 days ago

Chilaquiles Verdes

The plating was beautiful with pretty little orange flowers and microgreens on top with a light dusting of the queso. Incredible flavor! The meat paired w the tangy pickled onion and chili verde sauce was so delicious. I also had a popsicle margarita with a pineapple pop which was very tasty. The ambience is lovely and decor well done. We sat on the patio and enjoyed the view and sunshine. The waiter we had was not very attentive and seemed like he wanted to get us out of there very quickly. It was a busy Saturday morning 10/3/2020 and it looked like maybe only 2 waiters so i understand, but he was not personable at all and took a long time for our bill. That said, I would definitely still go back for the food though. Very good prices and very tasty!

Sarahmacnchz 29 days ago

Tacos De Birria (3)

The best birria I have ever had ! This place is to die for! Not only does it taste excellent but the presentation is superb!

Jayhamme about 1 month ago

Mango-Habanero Aguachile

Cocina de Barrio has become one of my new favorite places and has the best hospitality. The dishes really make you feel like you're eating in Oaxaca! The Mango-Habanero Aguachile is amazing!! The mango infusion is just delicious! Not only that, they have great Mezcal cocktails, artsy cocktails/margaritas, the best oysters I've had so far and I definitely can't forget to mention their Arroz con Leche Pancakes...literally the best pancake I've ever had!

Rsafiyab about 1 month ago

Infladita De Barbacoa

Cocina De Barrio made a delicious first impression with us! From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by friendly, attentive staff who got us checked in, took our temp (I haven't been anywhere else around here who does that-cool!) and well looked after. The salmon in mole amarillo was moist and packed with flavor, as were the mouth-watering beef birria tacos, which came on insanely good blue corn tortillas. We tried an infladita de barbacoa, also, and I'm pretty sure I'll be having one every time I go there from now on, because it was crazy good! The puffy taco shell was stuffed full of the juiciest, melt in your mouth delicious beef, but it was still crispy- amazing! You'll want to save room for dessert, in spite of having devoured your dinner, because the tres leches cake, which came served in a little flowerpot, is definitely worth wrecking your diet over. Sometimes I think people make tres leches cake too "smooshy," and lose the fluffy texture, but that's not the case here. The cake is still moist and tasty, but is still light and delicate. Crushed Oreo "soil," fresh berries, and edible flowers complete the flower pot. We went all in on dessert and also tried the chocolate brulee, which I think used a darker, more bittersweet chocolate. It. Was. Perfect. The custard was exactly the right consistency, like dark chocolatey silk, with a crunchy caramelized top. The mezcal margaritas were the tangy, refreshing best for a nice hot day, but I'm looking forward to our next visit to try some of the Mexican beers and wines they have on the menu (I didn't know they made wine in Ensenada!).

Kirakaufman about 1 month ago

Flor de Calabaza

I had the salmon ceviche which was wonderful and I had the lamb dish! This is a great mexican restaurant! Love this place, would highly recommend.

Teresab506 about 2 months ago

Masapan Pancakes

I initially saw this place though Instagram, my friend posted the paleta margarita. I decided to try for myself! I ordered the mazapán pancakes & they were delicious! It was garnished with mazapán, berries & café abuelita ice cream! The pancakes are a good size as well. There menu has so many creative options I had to go back again. I took my husband the next day & I ordered the Chilaquiles Verdes. Again I was very satisfied, they were crunchy, a good spice & garnished well. I can't wait to go again & try more of their dishes!

Bellarotondella about 2 months ago

Quesadillas De Huitlacoche (2)

amazing, i just love this place. brought friends from out of town (before the pandemic) and we ate here every night, they did not want to go any other place! black beans wonderful, really nice very hot salsa i requested and they delivered. very much regional, home made mexican food. hard to find this kind of quality in san diego.

Letstrythisagain0405 2 months ago

Popsicle Margarita

Oh SO delicious and perfect on these hot summer days!! 🥰🥰

Eneles10 3 months ago

Pulpo A La Brasa

Best pulpo I've ever had! Cooked to perfection and the sauces complemented the dish perfectly.

Blancahdez26 3 months ago

Quesadillas De Huitlacoche (2)

Quesadillas were so fresh and delicious, made me feel like I was on vacation in Mexico. This restaurant is such a great find!

Faness24316 4 months ago

Memelitas

The food was so delicious! Definitely coming back to try the brunch! Atmosphere was great and the hospitality was on point.

Villalvazo 4 months ago

Chilaquiles Verdes

Been Here several times and will continue coming. I've tried Chilaquiles verdes, sopes Benny, habanero agua chile, white sangría, fresh squeezed orange juice. It's all been so delicious.

Susan 4 months ago

Memelitas

Adore these. Beautifully presented. Texture and flavors so well balanced. The lamb birria is rich and comforting. Love so many of the antojitos. This restaurant is a gem.

Natalie 5 months ago

Enmoladas

My friends and I had brunch at Cocina de barrio today- and wow! My main dish was the enmoladas, which was steal for just under $15. The mole sauce was well balanced with sweetness and a spice factor. The tortillas were perfectly soaked and soft. The braised short rib was so tender. Each bite had some cheese to mix all the flavors together into perfection. On top of everything lied a fried egg. There are many components to this dish, each of which is executed beautifully. This dish also comes with a huge portion of diced potatoes, if you're still hungry after the 3 enmoladas! I heard this was the most authentic Mexican cuisine in town, and now I believe it. I will become a regular.

Maya 5 months ago

Memelitas

Amazing flavor, the lamb was perfect and the serving size was just right.

Paulvgrantham 5 months ago

Memelitas

These are amazingly complex and delicious.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA